Goldikova, Castellano, Espinoza, Gomez Named to Hall of Fame

Goldikova wins the 2009 Breeders’ Cup Mile. Photo credit Breeders’ Cup Ltd.

Goldikova – the only horse to win three consecutive Breeders’ Cup races – was elected Monday to the National Museum of Racing’s Hall of Fame, along with jockeys Javier Castellano, Victor Espinoza and the late Garrett Gomez.

Goldikova and Castellano were named in their first year of eligibility, and will be inducted along with Espinoza and Gomez in a ceremony open to the public Aug. 4 at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Goldikova — who defeated male rivals nine times — won the Breeders’ Cup Mile in 2008, 2009 and 2010, and was the only horse to have three Breeders’ Cup wins until Beholder won her third last year in the Distaff.

Goldikova, an Irish-bred daughter of Anabaa, earned more than $7 million with 17 victories in 27 starts. She won the Eclipse Award for champion turf female in 2009 and 2010.

Castellano, 39, has won the Eclipse Award for outstanding jockey for four consecutive years, and was North America’s leading rider in earnings from 2013 to 2016. He has ridden the champions Ghostzapper, Flintshire, Honor Code, Princess of Sylmar, Dayatthespa and Zagora.

Espinoza, 44, won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness aboard California Chrome in 2014 and the Triple Crown and the Breeders’ Cup Classic on American Pharoah the following year. He also won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness in 2002 aboard War Emblem.

Gomez – who died last December in Arizona at the age of 44 – won the 2010 Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Blame, defeating the previously unbeaten mare Zenyatta in her final start. He was the North American leading rider by earnings from 2006 through 2009.

Other finalists for the Hall of Fame this year were 2000 Breeders’ Cup Sprint champion Kona Gold, 2009 Breeders’ Cup Classic runner-up Gio Ponti, jockeys Robby Albarado and Craig Perret and trainers Mark Casse, John Shirreffs and David Whiteley.